Yoga and Weight Loss

weight lossAs an instructor or maybe even as a dedicated yoga class attendee, how many times have you been asked “will I burn calories or lose weight doing yoga?” I typically get asked at least a month and it is usually by someone who is new to yoga or have never tried it. Here is my answer and I have good news!

First of all if you approach me with this question, I am going to encourage you to give yoga a try and to find out for yourself. I can be very persuasive and I’ll tell you that yoga is way more than a fitness class; however, if that is what will get you to try it then I’m fine with that because that is how I got started.

My Answer:

Yes, you will burn calories doing yoga and yes you can lose weight and/or drop clothing size(s) doing yoga as well! I know that is what you wanted to hear, right! Of course, one’s weight lose journey will only be successful with consistent practice over time. I often tell people that they should regularly add yoga to their existing cardio exercise program (spinning, running, walking, aerobics, swimming…). Here is the more… But it is way more than burning calories. Yoga has lots of benefits: Muscle Toning/Strength Increases, Increased Flexibility, Core Stability Improvements, Weight Loss, and Stress Reduction. Can’t argue with that as these are wonderful benefits!

Yoga Classes:

This is not an inclusive list of all the types of yoga that are out there. I only listed “physical” yoga classes that I’ve had the opportunity to experience or learn about and estimations of caloric burn that happen to be mentioned on the internet for hour length classes. (Gentler versions of yoga are likely to burn less calories). Also it is important to note that “caloric burn” is highly variable and is influenced by factors such as gender, weight, body make up (percentage of lean muscle), metabolic rate, temperature, and exertion.

Hatha Yoga – This is a physical yoga class that emphasizes breath control and flowing poses. You can expect to burn at least 175 calories per hour, or the same amount of calories you might burn by walking 2 miles in 1 hour.

Ashtanga Yoga – This is a physical yoga class that tends to be more intense than that of a Hatha yoga class. Emphasis is still on breath control and flowing poses. The flow tends to progressively increase in difficulty and as such caloric burn is more than Hatha with at least 300 calories in 1 hour, or the same as walking 4 miles in 1 hour.

Power Yoga – This is a Westernized form of Ashtanga yoga. Flows move “quickly” between poses to increase your heart rate. Caloric burn is at least 300 calories in 45 minutes. So obviously in an hour, you’ll burn even more.

Vinyasa Yoga – This a physical yoga class that emphasizes on flowing from one pose to the next, especially during the sun salutation. Caloric burn is at least 445 calories per hour, or the same amount as jogging at a slow pace for 60 minutes. (This is what I teach and I always work up a sweat).

Bikram Yoga – This is a “trademark” named class that is performed in a room heated to 105 degrees and with a humidity of 40%. A series of 26 poses are pursued in a class and you’ll do them twice. Caloric burn is at least 630 calories per hour, or the same as swimming the butterfly stroke for an hour. The increased caloric burn is due to the heat. Definitely drink up lots of water because you’ll sweat profusely in class!

Hot Yoga – These types of yoga classes are inspired by Bikram Yoga but they aren’t Bikram Yoga as that is a trademark name.  Heat temperatures can range from 75˚F – 95˚F and the flow of poses are not set. Like Bikram, caloric burn will be influenced by the room’s temperature but it will be at least 445 calories.

Do know there are more yoga styles out there. I only mention ones I’m personally familiar with. Regardless of what type of yoga class you attend, you’ll have an “after-burn,” or a period of higher energy expenditure for hours after your workout! Also know that lower heart rate types of activities burn “fat” more so than those that hit closer to your maximum heart rates. Ask your personal trainer about that one!

Here is a formula for your Fat Burning Heart Rate Range that I had been given by my personal trainer.

Find your Maximum Heart Rate: 220 – age = MHR

My MHR = 178 (42yo)
Fat Burning Range (60-70%) of MHR

178 x .60 = 106.8

178 x .70 = 124.6

So to burn fat, I need to keep my heart rate in the range of 106.8 to 124.6 for at least 20 minutes and I will burn fat vs. glycogen. Now, I’ve never strapped on a heart rate monitor while I’ve done yoga. My watch beeps and would probably annoy my mat neighbors. But I do know what my exertion feels like when I keep my heart rate in that range.

It’s Not Just About the Calories…

Also, the stress reducing benefits are worth mentioning when it comes to weight loss. Regardless of whether you go to a Vinyasa Yoga class or some other type; after class, yoga participants regularly claim that they feel better and less stressed afterwards. And this is important because as you probably know, stress is linked to weight gain. When we are stressed, our bodies release Adrenalin, Corticotrophin Releasing Hormone (CRH), and Cortisol. Cortisol; in particular, can remain elevated in our bodies which increases a person’s appetite and as such causing people to eat more (generally unhealthy choices too).  Also some studies have shown that stress and elevated Cortisol tend to cause fat deposition in the abdominal area which is a bad place to deposit fat because it is strongly correlated with the development of cardiovascular disease. You may have heard that being “apple” shaped is bad. Good new though! Studies have shown that yoga lowers these stress hormones and increases insulin sensitivity which causes your body to burn food vs. store it as fat. I’m pretty sure you don’t want to store extra pounds around your middle.

So If you Want to Increase Your Burn Potential…

While you can’t change things like your gender or age, you can up your exertion and what you choose to pursue is totally up to you.

  • Build up to the “more” intense poses or variations, hold them
  • Keep moving (flow)/ Add Sun Salutations Half Series throughout practice
  • Try Explosive Movements (like jumping from Downward Facing Dog to Forward Fold)
  • Crank up the heat (both internally and externally)

Hopefully, the next time you get asked this question you can talk about it in depth with your mat buddies!

Until then,

~ Namaste,

Kristen

About kwarren1970

I am an avid hiker and yogi.
This entry was posted in Calorie Burn, Exercise, Weight Loss, Yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Yoga and Weight Loss

  1. Sarah C says:

    Great overview! I know I need to do yoga more often – I feel so good when I do, but it’s hard to fit into my schedule 😦

  2. I chanced upon your website on google and check out a few of your early posts. Continue with the very good posts. Ill likely be by again to read more, thanks for the info!. If you have a chance check out my site Clothing Online.

  3. Just want to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity to your post is just nice and that i can suppose you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to stay updated with imminent post. Thanks one million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  4. Anastasia says:

    Valuable information. Fortunate me I discovered your web
    site unintentionally, and I’m surprised why this accident did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  5. Selena says:

    Keep this going please, great job!

  6. We stumbled over here by a different website and thought I might as well check
    things out. I like what I see so i am just
    following you. Look forward to exploring your web
    page again.

  7. Nannie says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  8. Leanne says:

    This is the perfect blog for everyone who hopes to find out about this topic.
    You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).

    You definitely put a new spin on a topic which has been discussed for many years.
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  9. Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a
    blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have
    developed some nice procedures and we are looking to swap solutions with others,
    please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  10. This is the right website for anybody who really wants to find out about this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa).

    You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject which has been written about for many years.
    Wonderful stuff, just great!

  11. I wanted to thank you for this excellent read!!
    I absolutely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff you post…

Leave a Reply

