Job Loss and Cutbacks

Budget cutsThroughout America, numerous people are stressed out because our national budget is out of control. One of the ways our government is attempting to fix it is to either eliminate positions, hiring freezes, and/or cut back on hours worked. Today, I’m hearing that some people have already learned the impact of whatever is going to happen to them. Tomorrow, I learn what might happen to me and my coworkers with my real job. Yes, us regular people are going to be one of the ways “they,” our government will attempt to fix the budget.

You bet I too am stressed out. I couldn’t focus worth a darn in my yoga classes of which I’m the instructor. Heck, I’m surprised I didn’t have an accident driving to and from classes.

Teaching Yoga and fitness is a fun job, a hobby for me. Today, I learned that due to the budget crisis, Schriever’s group fitness program is on hold effective tomorrow. The fitness director believes that it will stay on hold until the end of the fiscal year. So essentially, I taught my last yoga class out there for who knows how long. I’m really bummed out about losing the classes and I’ll miss the clients that I’ve had the opportunity to work with as well as got to know.

So I got to thinking about how I need to cut my own personal budget. My first approach is to prioritize my spending. For me the first cutback would be on all the fru fru stuff. You know, getting my nails done, my Pilates Reformer classes, no eating out, no going to the movies, gym memberships, reducing cable service, not running AC…that sort of stuff. It will suck. I won’t like it. However, I know I’ll be in the company of countless others.

While I hope people don’t cut out their exercise programs, I know that would be on the chopping list especially if it entails a costly gym or studio membership. Those of you going through the stress of job loss or hours cut, I hope you can continue with your yoga and exercise practice maybe via DVDs and online sources or taking it outside. Don’t stop! Exercise and yoga are very beneficial to your Heath and overall wellbeing especially when you are stressed out.

Heck, maybe, I’ll make an online video on YouTube or something of a short yoga practice. I just might have the extra time to do something like that.

Wishing for the best, thinking about everyone,

Kristen

This entry was posted in Exercise, Job loss and stress, Stress Relief, Uncategorized, Yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Job Loss and Cutbacks

  1. I might be alone here with my point of view but particularly in these stressful times, where employees end up having to take more sick days and productivity at work decreases, a company would make a smart move to invest in a free, weekly yoga class for staff.

    • kwarren1970 says:

      It would be nice if they thought that way. Exercise is a great stress relief and it is a healthy approach to relieving stress. Instead it is the first program they cut. Sad.

  2. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Appreciate it!

    • kwarren1970 says:

      Tabitha,

      First of all I have to get inspiration. Sometimes it is from the questions that my clients ask. Sometimes, it is personal discussions with friends or personal experiences that I have. Once I get inspired, I just write. I don’t stress out over it because then it isn’t fun. Usually, I write using Microsoft Word. I don’t give myself a time limit. Sometimes a blog is an idea and an hour or two of writing. A blog comes out quicker if I know the answer up front and am just putting the answer in written form. Other times, I need to do a little research, organize my thoughts and then write. It might take a few days. Maybe I only have a few minutes to write. Sometimes, I have an afternoon. Typically, I leave my Microsoft Word up on my computer until I actually publish my blog. Sometimes, my daughter will throw me an idea. She is an athlete. Overall, I love to read and I personally like to write.

  3. Thank you for this. I am keen on finding ways to live well without it being all about how much money it costs…

    • kwarren1970 says:

      Most definitely! I was furloughed this summer, 16 hours out of each pay period for 11 weeks. While I cancelled a lot, I also looked for cheaper ways to get what I wanted. Missed the pampering part but still attained the look.

Leave a Reply

