Ouch! I Fell and Hurt My Shoulder

Last weekend on Saturday, I took the opportunity to go hiking. (I live in Colorado). The summit was a little over 11,000 feet. It was a wonderful all day sort of hike and the view was awesome! When I got to the top, I struck a few yoga poses and had my friend snap some shots. Let me tell you, how inspiring it is to pursue Warrior II on top of stacked rocks with a view that just won’t stop. My Dristi was just off my hand into the wilderness and what a great Dristi it was.

So all and all I had a great day…hiking, friends, wine, and pizza! In case you were wondering, the hike was called Pancake Rock in Colorado (in case you are in Colorado).

Now on the way back down, I eventually slipped on some ice and fell. Not fun! When I fell, I must have braced my fall with my right hand because ever since then my shoulder has been angry with me. But I didn’t know it until a few hours later.

As a fitness person, I learned about R.I.C.E. which stands for Rest, Ice, Compression, and Elevation. R.I.C.E. is a great practice to tap into when you hurt yourself, but nothing is broken or sprained. You might do all four or maybe just one.

So Sunday, I rested it since I could move my right arm with full R.O.M. Now, I was able to get dressed but my shoulder reminded me it was mad especially when I lifted my arm to pull a shirt over my head. On Monday, after work, I decided that I would go to the gym but would baby my shoulder (still kind of resting it) and listen to my body.

On Mondays, I usually do two back to back classes. The first is called 50/50 which is 30 minutes of cardio and 30 minutes of resistance. When it came to shoulder presses, I went pretty light with my dumb bells. Then, the following class is yoga which I take as a client. Again, I’d take it easy. Well, I was able to do the whole class with my usual vigor which was great. Only problem was Chaturanga (yoga push up or Crocodile pose). My right shoulder screamed. Listening to my body, I modified on my knees, then eventually skipped it and went straight to Downward Facing Dog.

On Tuesday, I chose to rest. On Wednesday, I tried a Slow Flow Yoga class, again, as a client. Chaturanga still hurt so I stayed with the knee modification.

Now, tonight, I teach yoga. Usually, I do the poses with my clients. I am wondering how Chaturanga might feel tonight. I may just do YogaFit’s Sunflower/Moonflower flow instead and their Moon Salutation instead of traditional Sun Salutation. This is a wonderful alternative.

Hope my shoulder decides it likes me again. I do value the Listening to Your Body approach that yoga teaches us about. Definitely, don’t want to further aggravate or truly injure my shoulder.

Namaste,
Kristen

This entry was posted in Exercise, listening to your body, mind-body connection, Uncategorized, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

