What’s in a logo? A name?

I’ve been really busy trying to get my yoga studio started and going. Very time consuming to say the least! As I and my business yoga partners develop the business, there is one question that people continuously ask me. That is how did I come up with my studio name and the logo.

Well, I have to say, I didn’t come up with it all by myself. I had help. It was a joint effort on the part of myself and my business partner and friend, Lara.

Buckle up and let me tell you how we came up with our name and logo.

It all started the fall of 2014. Lara and I didn’t know each other, but we had one thing in common, we both signed up and were taking a yoga teacher training. That’s how we met. As we got to know each other, we learned that we had some of the same passions when it came to yoga so we were naturally drawn together. Our complimentary ideologies attracted a friendship.

I wanted to go beyond fitness based yoga and truly help people who needed it the most. People who are suffering from trauma or have life changing injuries. People with PTSD and especially veterans. As a veteran myself, I’ve seen some of the struggles and hardships military men and women and families go through. I felt compelled to find a way I could help. My way of giving back. Lara wanted that too.

Back in November 2014, both Lara and I were watching a documentary called “I am” by Tom Shadyac (Hollywood director of several popular movies). I have to give credit to the film because it was a catalyst that set the studio identity in motion.

In short, the film posed two questions. What’s wrong with our world, and what can we do to make it better? Tom made the film after he was in a cycling accident. He wasn’t healing and was depressed.  His money wasn’t making him happy (he had several mansion type homes, a plane, cars… excess) so he went on a quest to search for true happiness and if he could be a change he wished to see in the world. Doing his journey, he saw two extremes in the world. The super rich with excess and a lot of waste and the extreme poverty who didn’t eat or have shelter let alone things we take for granted. He noticed that some of the happiest people he met certainly weren’t rich and yet they would go out of their way to help another. He questioned how was that so!

After watching that film, I see that in the world and it’s sad.

Today’s world is filled with people so caught up in their own lives. Many don’t take a moment to acknowledge others, let alone lend a helping hand. There is a lot of I’m to important, materialism, and greed. Tom felt he was guilty too.

So with a new sense of purpose, Tom went on a quest to share with others his own awaking as he eliminated the greed and excess in his life and help influence others to do the same.

His thoughts were that we are all the same, we breath the same air. In fact, 1% of the air we breath is Argon which is a recyclable gas so everyone breaths this noble gas to include the great people before before us.

I could go on and on. All in all, the film sparked something in Lara and I.

Yoga is about the breath. We keyed in on Tom’s mention of part of the air we breath was Argon. Argon is the Eighteenth Element. When Argon burns, it takes a fusha color. Our colors in the logo are black and fuchsia. If you look closely, you can see an influence of the periodic table in our logo also.

Before watching the film, Lara and I felt it is extremely important that yoga is for everyone not just the rich or those who choose it for fitness. It was important to us to keep our prices low so it isn’t out of people’s means and two of our trauma programs are free. Several people really truly need it. The less fortunate, those who struggle with trauma in their day-to-day lives, and first responders. Our phrase Lara and I always say to each other; “if you build it, they will come.”

We started taking trauma focused yoga training, talking to trauma workers, and doing a lot of reading. The one thing we came to realize was that a lot of people feel like they are victims to their trauma and as such we keyed in on the Warrior pose because in our eyes, our clients can take back their lives, be their own warrior, and yoga can be one of the tools they use. This is our way of lending a helping hand.

So now you know the rest of the story. Why we named our studio Eighteenth Element Yoga and how our logo evolved. I hope you like it just as much as we do and just maybe we will meet you on the mat sometime soon!

Namaste,

Kristen

Eighteenth Element Yoga logo

Eighteenth Element Yoga logo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

